Sticking To My $35 A Week Budget

As you may know, I am trying to stick to a $35 weekly budget.  That is for everything that is not a bill or gasoline for our car.  Since all of the stores that I shop run their sales from Sunday through Saturday then I start each week’s budget on Sunday. Here is how I did this week:

Rite Aid ( not pictured) – Loaf of Bread, Teddy Grahams ( for hubby’s lunch), Izze drink ( hubby’s lunch), Arizona Iced tea ( hubby’s lunch) = $0.77 after coupons.

Rite Aid ( not pictured) – 2 Liter Dr. Pepper, Gallon of White Milk, 2 Quarts of Chocolate Milk, Izze drink ( hubby’s lunch), Snapple ( hubby’s lunch), Nutter Butter Bites ( hubby’s lunch) = $0.50 after coupons.

Wilson Farms (not pictured) – 3 1-Liters of Poland Spring Water ( these were from their text & save promo & done 1 a day) = FREE

Redbox – 4 movie rentals = $4.36

Tops ( pictured above) :

(2) Tabasco Sauce $2.00 – (2) $0.50 coupons doubled = FREE!

(2) 4lb. bags of Oranges $4.99 ( bogo sale)

2 lbs plums, nectarines & peaches $2.52

Loaf of Tops Italian Bread $1.79

Tops 3 Liter Water $0.88

Thomas Cinnamon Raisin Bagel Thins $3.69 – $4.00 coupon from Bzzagent ( took off total amount) = $0.31 overage

(3) Hamburger Helper $3.00 – $0.75/3 coupon doubled = $1.50 for all 3

Morning Star Farms Chicken Patties $3.49 – $1.00 coupon = $2.49

Morning Star Prime Grilled Burgers $3.49 – $1.00 coupon = $2.49

(4) Green Giant boxed vegetables  $4.00 – (4) $0.50 doubled coupons = FREE

(4) Heluva Good Cheddar Cheese Chunks $8.00 – (4) $0.50 doubled coupons = $1.00 each

Philadelphia Cream Cheese $2.00 – $1.00 coupon = $1.00

Horizon Organic single serve milk $1.00 – $1.00 coupon = FREE

Used $4/$50 coupon

Total Before coupons but after sale prices = $40.85 Total Paid after coupons = $14.28

AND BECAUSE YOU ASKED FOR IT…..

Rite Aid – 11 4-packs of toilet paper, 70 single rolls of toilet paper, 2 newspapers & 7 TGI Friday snacks.  I broke exactly even with up rewards used and earned.  I spent a total of $2.56 out of pocket ( all tax).

Please note that this was done in 9 different transactions @ 5 different stores.  I honestly did NOT CLEAR A SHELF.  I only did 1 transaction myself at each store and Hubby did a transaction  at 4 out of the 5 stores.  Only one store was semi limited on stock so I only grabbed a few rolls of tp from there to make the gas worth it.  Hubby and I each went out and did a transaction of 10 single rolls around 1 am ( @ a 24 hour store) on Sunday.  I wasn’t sure if we would get back out and I figured the shelves would be clear but I was wrong.  We went back out a little after noon and got the rest of the toilet paper.  I was surprised at how much was left.  Only the facial tissues were wiped out at most of the stores and the 4 packs of toilet paper were gone at 2 out of the 5 stores.  For those that are not regular readers, before you judge I rarely get things in crazy amounts ( and this is the most of a like thing I have EVER bought) and I am not someone that coupons just for the thrill.  I do LOVE couponing but it is also a necessity for my family.  This is something that we NEED so I got a bunch meanwhile not being the lady with 2 carts overflowing at the same store leaving none for other peoples that want to take part in the deal.  That’s why I wasn’t getting the money making facial tissues ( plus they were gone from almost all of the stores).  I have a small stockpile of them already and don’t NEED them although the extra $3 +UPs would have been nice.

Total Spent this week: $22.47. Tomorrow ( Saturday) I will be making a stop to CVS to pick up (6) 12 packs of pop that should last for about a month or so for Hubby’s lunches.  That should look like this:

(6) 12 packs of pop $20.00 + $3.60 ( bottle deposits) + $1.80  (tax) = $25.40 – (2) $1.00/2 peelies ( THANKS KATE!) – $7.29 ECB = $16.11 AND get back $10.00 ECB.

After my CVS trip my weekly total will be at $38.58 BUT if you subtract the $3.60 that I will get back in bottle deposits then my weekly total will be $34.98 🙂  My mother just gave me a bunch of her bottles to return and there is about $4 or $5 worth so I don’t mind not including my bottle deposit expense this time.

Looks like I JUST made it this week.  Let’s see how next week goes.

* Have you been finding it challenging to keep within your budget? Or maybe you have found some great sales and feel that your budget can be cut back even more?  Please share in the comments section!

This entry was posted in Shopping trips. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sticking To My $35 A Week Budget

  1. Sarah B says:

    Wow – what a great job! No, I won’t judge…I would have bought that many if I could lol Every location I went to was either all out, or limiting each person to 4 max. Was very bummed about that…Still ended up with maybe 8 of the 4 packs and about 8 of the tissues. Loved the deal on those TGI Fridays snacks! Those potato skin ones are my absolute favorite. Was only ever able to find 3 of them..oh well!

  2. Didi says:

    WTG Amanda!!!! Your posts espcially w/ your breakdowns, links and pics inspire me so much!!!!!

  3. Precious says:

    Thanks for the pics. You did great! If I had been able to get out and get the TP last Sunday, I would have done the same thing. TP is a great stockup item and keeps forever. Good for you! I did get some of the snacks though.

    • couponlove says:

      Thanks, Precious! I normally wouldn’t have been able to get to that many stores but that was the night that my Mom watched the kids overnight for our anniversary so it worked out great! 😉

  4. Felicia says:

    Good job!

    The TP is not bad at all. It is TP after all and you need it. I got a lot too, and I am not one to buy a ton of anything either (we only have so much space). My stores had a ton. Good for you!

    I did realize this week I could’ve gone lower on my budget. I tried a new recipe and realized (after the fact) how much I spent on just those ingredients – arghh! Well now I know. We didn’t even like it that much haha.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • couponlove says:

      Hi Felicia! THank you. To be honest I don’t really have much space and have to make some because the toilet paper is still sitting on our table. LOL!
      I know what you meant about new recipes. I love trying new recipes but I rarely have all of the ingredients needed and have to buy stuff that I never use.

  5. Tiff T says:

    You are amazing! I think you do such an awesome job on your budget! I also think you did great with the TP. I think my biggest point is you need it! I was in the other day and I saw a lady that looked like she did not need it, could be wrong. But she had a couple carts over flowing and was not even the right toilet paper and there were a sign for a limit anyways, and she was up at the register giving the girls a hard time. Now that upset me. First off, it is not there fault that there is a limit and 2 you do not even have the right product! LOL oh people!

    Also my tip to everyone that uses coupons, make friends with you cashiers! In the start I do not think my couple local stores liked me, now I go out of my way to ask how they are and chat with them, now they all like me and call me the coupon lady! I love it! I figure I probably will stop in anywhere from 1-5 times (3 different stores) but might as well make friends with them!!

    Awesome job again Amanda!!

  6. ashley says:

    Good job! Do you remember were you found the morning star farms coupons? My brother eats them daily!

Leave a Reply

