*GIVEAWAY* Weekly Coupon Organization Plan ( Week 1)

Do you see that horrid mess in front of you?  This is my coupon chaos that somehow saves me money.  I have some whole inserts ( those are unorganized), some coupons that were printed and still have to be clipped, miscellanious clipped coupons and then a very small bunch of coupons that are in plastic holders categorized by month of expiration.  I keep all of this craziness in a large tote.  I also have random coupons and some of my best coupons in my purse.  Do you see why I am always complaining about not getting the deals I wanted?!?  It’s all my fault….I let this get so out of hand that I dread having to look for certain coupons and sometimes just skip REALLY GREAT deals.

Does this resemble your stash of coupons?  I really hope not! 

 If  it does then I hope that you will join me in a new project/giveaway that I have for us.  This will be a 3 week dedication to organizing our coupons.  Every person has a different method that they are either following or want to follow.  I can not tell you which will work best for you.  Some people use binders, small coupon clutches, envelopes, leave the coupons unclipped in inserts, in baggies, combinations of the mentioned methods etc. etc… I would love for us all to be able to save money without the hassle of missing coupons and the overwhelming feeling when things get out of hand ( see above photo).  I know that there are some people that ARE organized.  If you are someone that already has your coupons organized then you may still join in on this giveaway as I am sure that we can all use some sort of improvement in our coupon organization.

Here’s How it will work:  Every week for the next 3 weeks ( including this week) , I will write a “Weekly Coupon Organization Plan” post.  I am hoping to get the post up on either Monday or Tuesday each week.  I will then ask that each week you leave a comment on that post answering the questions that I ask about your progress in reaching your organizational goals.  You will only be entered in the giveaway if you participate EACH WEEK ( starting RIGHT NOW 🙂 ).  Entries will not count if you wait until the last week to post a comment in each of the 3 weeks ” Weekly Coupon Organization Plan” posts.  The whole point is to support one another while we get through this time consuming and overwhelming task.  With the new year coming there with be a boatload of coupons expiring this month so what better time to get our stuff together and ready for some great savings in 2011!

If all of that redundant nonsense confused you ( it confused me when I read it over) then just follow these steps to participate in the giveaway.  * Sorry it’s very late but I wanted to get this started!

1. Leave a comment on THIS POST copy and pasting the following questions and answering them ( ALL must be answered to qualify)

  • Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized?
  • Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow?
  • What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes?
  • Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash?

2. If you decide to take a “before” picture of your coupons then please do so sometime this week and email them to wifenmom3@gmail.com with “COUPON BEFORE” as the subject.  Please let me know in the email if it is OK to share your picture on this site.  * By submitting before and after photos you will get a second entry into the giveaway*

3.  Next week look for the post titled “Weekly Coupon Organization Plan ( Week 2) and copy and paste the questions that will be asked in that post along with your answers.  The post will be up either Monday or Tuesday.

4.  Then the next week look for the post titled “Weekly Coupon Organization Plan ( Week 3) and copy and paste the questions that will be asked in that post along with your answers.  The post will be up either Monday or Tuesday. * This will be the last week and we will all hopefully have our coupons up to date at that point.  “AFTER” pictures will need to be submitted if you are going for the second entry.

5.  The winner will be chosen using random.org.  The prize is a suprise but is my favorite prize i’ve given away so far!  The winner will be announced January, 7th. 

* If someone is a new follower of CouponLove and would like to participate but just found this blog AFTER week 1 or AFTER week 2 then please click the “contact me” button and let me know. 

COUPONLOVE’S (Amanda) ANSWERS FOR WEEK 1:

  • Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized? Do I really have to answer this one?!?! 😉
  •  

  • Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow?  My ideal method would be part binder, part inserts.  I will cut coupons that I need for each week and the upcoming weeks and file those in my small coupon holder that stays in my purse.  I will also cut out coupons that I think would make for great deals and that I think I might find on clearance ( i.e. Glade coupons) and place those in my coupon binders.  I will have one for food items and one for non-food items.  I will leave “the others” that I don’t think i’ll need in the insert and file those away in order of their release.  This will make trading coupons much easier.  I also organize my coupons by expiration date instead of categories.  It will make keeping up with them simpler.
  • What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes? I plan to get all of my already clipped coupons grouped together by expiration date and food/non-food.  I also plan to cut all IP’s and coupons form magazines out.  I would like to have close to half of my coupon inserts clipped as well.
  • Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash? Of course!

** This Giveaway is not sponsored in any way**

This entry was posted in Giveaways and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to *GIVEAWAY* Weekly Coupon Organization Plan ( Week 1)

  1. Precious says:

    •Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized?

    Sometimes! Right now I just have a 1/2 an envelope full.

    •Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow?

    I have a binder for food coupons that get filed by category. Then I keep HBA, drug, pet and cleaning in a file box by category. My inserts I label with the date each week and keep them filed by date in an organizer.

    •What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes?

    I am going to file the 1/2 envelope full.

    •Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash?

    Nope- nothing exciting about 1/2 and envelope.

  2. Tiffany says:

    •Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized?

    Yes I do, when you buy 5 papers a week and get inserts from family and friends hard to keep up with!!

    •Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow?

    I plan to date the inserts cut out the coupons I will most likely use and put them in my coupon envelope that is separated by different departments. Then keep the rest of the inserts that are dated in a folder that I can reference them!

    •What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes?

    I plan to make sure all inserts are dated as well as if any more come in to make sure they are dated (meaning by the Sunday they came out)

    •Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash?

    I am not able to at the moment. My mess looks pretty close to Amanda’s… lol!

  3. Anna N. says:

    Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized?
    YES!!!!!! Theres so many!!!

    Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow?
    I keep them in a binder. I’ve tried other ones but like the binder one the best. For going to the store I put the ones I’m going to for sure use in an envelope.

    What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes?
    get at 1/3 cut and organized

    Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash?
    I will try

  4. wendy says:

    I have trouble keeping them organized when I get extra inserts from family.I also have odds and ends coupon bags that are a little crazy.

    My method is to staple the inserts together and put them in large zip lock bags, hopefully with a piece of paper with the date on it. They are stored in a med size clear plastic bin. I also have a bag for “good” coupons.

    I just sorted Sunday’s coupons and need to straighten up the good ones since I got some good ones in the mail this week.

    I have a camera that I don’t know how to use.

    There are times my coupons are a scrambled mess and it looks like a tornado came through the place. I have worked very hard lately to get control of them.

    I have printed more coupons this month than usual and went thru a lot of ink. So, I bought some ink at RA yesterday with ups!

  5. Alicia Hansen says:

    •Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized?
    No, not really, but I am new at this and just started about a month ago. I wouldn’t be able to shop with my 3 boys if my coupons were not organized 🙂
    •Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow?
    I use the Savvy Shopper method 🙂 A three ring binder with plastic card holders.
    •What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes?
    I only got 4 of my 5 papers organized because the 5th was printed/cut incorrectly, so I need to cut and organize those coupons!
    •Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash?
    Sure

  6. wendy says:

    I really love those little fingers that are helping in the upper right corner of the picture!

    • couponlove says:

      LOL! I was standing on a chair to get all of the coupons in the picture and my 2 year old decided that they needed a little adjusting 😉

      • wendy says:

        It still cracks me up…he is trying very hard to help mommy with her coupons! Pretty soon he will be helping you with deals. In kindergarten he will be the most advanced kid that can use a scissors!

  7. Amanda F says:

    Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized?
    I have three boys under six, YES!

    Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow?
    I have a binder a plastic box and folders

    What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes?
    try to get coupons filed

    Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash?
    i would prefer not to, to embarassing!

  8. Charity L. says:

    Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized? Yes! Sometimes they end up at the bottom of a reusable bag in a big jumble! Yikes.

    Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow? I would like to use the coupon clutch, which I am hoping to get for Christmas.

    What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes? Go through all of my coupons and throw out the ones that are expired!

    Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash?
    No…it’s too scary to show anyone!

  9. Charity L. says:

    Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized? Yes. They often end up in a reuseable bg in a big jumble!

    Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow? I would like to use the coupon clutch (binder style) to help keep organized. I hope to get it for Christmas!

    What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes? Go through all of the coupons and throw away the ones that have expired!

    Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash? No. I do not plan to.

  10. Kate says:

    •Do you have a hard time keeping your coupons organized?
    Yeah. They’re all over my (very large) desk right now… and I mean ALL OVER. I have to dig to find my textbooks beneath them 😉 If I have coupons pulled out at a store and I don’t end up using them, they end up tossed on my desk – this happens a lot, especially with how often I’ve been going to Rite Aid lately.

    •Which organizational method do you follow or would you like to follow?
    I currently have a little accordion-style holder for my coupons with labels for food, paper products, etc… my mom got it for me at a yardsale for $0.25 and so the labels were already in place… I put cat coupons in ‘Baby’ =P
    I also plan out trips as much as I can before I leave for the store and I pull the coupons I will need and place them in a folded piece of paper
    (these make-shift folders are from utilizing the sheet that comes out of the campus printers with just my username on it)

    •What are your specific goals for this week as far as your coupon organization goes?
    None, sorry. Got 2 research papers due Sun/Mon 😦 I’m probably going to get the last 3-4 weeks of inserts from my dad, his friend, and my aunt next week and that’ll take some time to clip and file away.

    •Will you be taking a before and after picture of your coupon stash?
    Sure. It’s not that exciting though =P

  11. Pingback: *Giveaway* Weekly Coupon Organization Plan ( Week 2) « CouponLove

Leave a Reply

