Giving Feels Oh So Good And You Get Free Cake ( results may vary)

I live in a 4 family apartment building and one of the families has been having some financial difficulties lately.  I have only briefly talked with the mother but she is very sweet and  we are both going through a lot of the same problems right now.  I told her that I coupon and get stuff for free quite often and to let me know if there is ever anything that they needed.  I realized that she would probably never ask me for anything even though I told her she could.  How many of us really take strangers up on their offers?!?! 

Anyway I decided that I would just get some stuff together and take it upstairs to them.  I didn’t have any baskets or anything nice to stick the stuff in so I just filled up 4 shopping bags of food, toiletries, cleaning supplies etc. .  They seemed so surprised and greatful when they answered the door.  I have to say that I felt pretty darn good inside too!  Thanks to coupons, I was able to give them approximately $300 worth of useful stuff and I was smiling all night.  

About an hour later the mother and daughter show up at my door with a very cute little marble cake that says “Thank You”!  I am a very emotional person and felt like crying ( I do that a lot. lol) because it really touched my heart that they would go out in the freezing cold and buy us a cake.  Most people probably would have bought a card, which is a very special gift but you can’t eat it and…..well….this girl likes to eat and so do those little critters you see pictured below 😉 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Giving Feels Oh So Good And You Get Free Cake ( results may vary)

  1. Tiffany says:

    Oh how sweet of you! I am doing something similar, my entire family is in a money crisis, loss of jobs ect. So we do not have money to buy for each other and I normally bake but this year I am actually giving away free goodies too! I just started a couple months back but have been hitting up deals pretty hard and have tons of freebies, so from Candy, toothpaste, floss, lotion ect I am going to do up little bags. It is all things we use and I want to share! Also, I am giving toys to Toys For Tots, like that hippo game for .24 cents at Walmart. I think that this was so very sweet and generous of you because even though you maybe did not pay that much you still did the work and could easily of kept the items for yourself! I think it is wonderful that the showed their appreciation!!

    Tis the Season of Giving!! Thank you for all of you work to help ALL of us save!!!!

  2. couponlove says:

    Hi Tiffany! I know what you mean about the money troubles. I am always giving away stuff to family and I would NEVER be able to if I didn’t use coupons. I am so thankful that I know how to save money!

    Thank you so much for your kind words!

    – Amanda

  3. Didi says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwww, Amanda that was so, so very sweet of you!!!! Your such a nice person!!! That’s one I have found in my yr of couponing is the fact I can bless other’s soooo much more!!!

    Thanks for all you do Amanda!!

  4. Precious says:

    That was so nice of you to do that for that family! Isn’t it great when our coupon habit can help others???

  5. Charity L. says:

    This post made my day. You are so very thoughtful God Bless.

Leave a Reply

