How To Get Started Trading Coupons



Why are people always talking about trading coupons?  Does it really help you save money?

If you know exactly what you are looking for as far as coupons, rebates etc. then YES trading with other people can save you a lot of money.  People are always talking about trading coupons because areas other than your own always seem to get the good ones right?  Well, you can get the good ones too if you take the time to look for them! 

There are also a lot of people that just order coupons from a clipping service or ebay.  I don’t because I can usually find someone that is willing to trade the coupons that I want ( even in large amounts) for other coupons that I have.  This works out to me only having to spend the amount of a stamp ( maybe 2) instead of $5+ dollars getting them from a clipping service.  Still there are some people that swear by buying coupons and sometimes they can get a fantastic deal.  I have no problem with buying or trading, I just want you to know that you don’t always necessarily have to pay for the coupons that you want.

If you have never traded coupons before or are maybe new to it then there are a few tips that I want to share with you.

  • Know exactly what you are looking for!  I can’t stress this enough.  When I first started to trade coupons I was just excited to be trading for different ones so I gave up a lot of REALLY good coupons for a bunch of not so great ones.  For example 2 years ago I had traded away all of my $30 bayer meter coupons for a ton of $1/3 Pillsbury crescent rolls coupons.  I had no use for the bayer meter coupons and my husband and I liked Pillsbury Crescent rolls so I thought that I was getting a great trade.  Come to find out the $30 bayer coupons were major money makers for a TON of upcoming sales and instead of having those lovely coupons in my possession I was now stuck with 20 coupons for $1.00 off of 3 Pillsbury crescent rolls.  I clearly hadn’t thought it through because who would buy 60 crescent rolls at one time???? 
  • Make a Coupon Wishlist!  Not only should you know what you want but you should give it careful thought and consideration and then write/type it down.  The more detailed it is the better chance you will have of getting some good trades.  My first wishlist was not detailed at all and looked something like this…
    1. Pillsbury crescent rolls
    2. diapers/wipes
    3. bread
    4. milk
    5. caress body wash
    6. toilet paper
    7. toothpaste
    8. make-up

            The problem with my list was that I ended up getting horrible denominations that  

 I already had from my own paper.  Here is an example of what my wishlist would                    look like today:

  1. $0.35/1 Pillsbury crescent rolls 10-10 SS
  2. $2.00+ Huggies/Pampers diapers
  3. $1.00 ANY Tide
  4. $2.00 Quaker Printable

I will post my real wishlist next week on Trade Me Tuesday so that you can get a better idea.

  • Know what sales are coming up for the stores that you shop so that you can be more prepared.  If you don’t look ahead at the sales then you may end up trading away a great coupon that you could have used.  Remember my $30 Bayer meter example above.  Trust me…DO NOT let that happen to you.  I pretty much gave that person over $100 when considering how much money you could make off of those coupons.  Trust me that I did not make the same mistake the next year!
  • If there is trader feedback available then be sure to read what other people wrote about the person that you are trading with.  I haven’t really had any problems but it does happen. 
  • Make sure that you are getting a fair trade.  Different people have different ways that they do things but there are some people that have been trading for a long time that I will see take advantage of others.  Just know what your coupons are worth and don’t be afraid to pass up on a trade if you don’t like what the person is offering.  One thing that bothers me more than others is when people get greedy with formula checks.  Formula checks are like GOLD in the coupon trading community.  Seasoned traders know this and will ask for the moon in return for a $5 Formula check.  If a mother is not breastfeeding then formula is a necessity for that child.  When people are looking for formula checks then they usually really need them and IMO it is very greedy to make them bend over backwards for them!  Can you tell that I have had issues with them in the past?!? 🙂

 

Do you trade for coupons, rebate checks, box tops or anything else?  How have your experiences been?  Where are your favorite places to trade?  Please share with us in the comments section

* Don’t forget that I post a TRADE ME TUESDAY post every week.  No one has started posting yet but I am hopeful that you will someday soon 😉  I will get my coupon wishlist up there next week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How To Get Started Trading Coupons

  1. Kate says:

    Where you do you trade, Amanda?

  2. couponlove says:

    Kate, I trade on hotcouponworld, afullcup, weusecoupons, vickysdeals, totallytarget (she has a forum with a trading section), cafemom and I think that’s about all I trade on 🙂

  3. couponlove says:

    I will do another post on those sites and trading in a few days¤

Leave a Reply

