Frugal Tip – Use Recycled Bath Water to Flush Toilets

In this economy we all need to be careful with our money and saving is smart.  I am always trying to find more ways to save money and have found a ton of useful tips over the last few years that I will be sharing with you all.  You may already be doing many of the things that I will mention in this post each week and some may seem like common sense to you but perhaps it may not have occurred to someone else which is why I am mentioning it.  I will not post using coupons as a frugal tip, however, since I am assuming that most if not all of the readers of CouponLove use them. 

Every week I will post one “frugal tip” that I think may benefit some of you.  Just because I am posting about a particular money saving idea does not necessarily mean that my family and I put it into practice.  Some things that work for you may not work for others.  You may even find some of these ideas to be extreme for you and your family’s needs.  Either way I hope that I can help some of you find new ways to cut costs on your daily activities.

Frugal Tip :  Use bath water to flush toilet.  After taking a bath, save the water and instead of flushing the toilet by pulling the handle just pour in your bath water. 

My Personal Opinion:  This is not something that I personally do.  I rent an apartment ( always have) and my water is included so I have never had a water bill.  I probably should think more about saving water than I do.  Unless you have to take a bath for medical reasons or have little children then your best bet is to take showers anyway if you are trying to save on water.  I suppose you could take a shower while leaving the tub plugged and then use that water to flush your toilets 😉 

Level of savings when frugal tip is put into practice:  I have heard of several people that follow this frugal tip but as I said, I do not.  I am not sure if the savings would be that great or not .   Anyone do this?  Have you noticed a big change in your water bill?

* Leave a comment below and tell us if you practice this frugal tip already or if you think you will give it a try and what your thoughts are on it.

This entry was posted in Frugal Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frugal Tip – Use Recycled Bath Water to Flush Toilets

  1. Elizabeth Stone says:

    My family and I (family of 3) tried this for one 3-month billing period. The savings was about $3 or $4 for a 3 month period. We went back to flushing the toilet the normal way. Maybe this would work better for a larger family.

  2. Charity L. says:

    Not sure I understand this tip. If you just add the bath water, doesn’t that just fill up the toilet with more water? Don’t ou need to pull the handle down to make everything “flush” down the hole? Never really thought about this before now. Interesting though,.

    • couponlove says:

      Hi Charity, When the water gets to a certain level it will automatically flush without having to pull the handle ( unless of course it is clogged). I just found it out a few years ago. Now go try it out 😉

Leave a Reply

