Wednesday Why: Why Do Cashiers Dislike Coupons ?

Why does it seem like most cashiers dislike coupons?

I obviously can’t speak for ALL cashiers but this is a question that I get a lot and I will share with you what my experience on the subject has been.

The first thing that you need to remember is that if someone isn’t a an avid coupon user then chances are they don’t realize that you really CAN get a ton of stuff for free with coupons and/or sometimes make money by using them.  If they do know then they may not understand why or how it can possibly be legal and feel that you are somehow “cheating the system”.  I can’t tell you how many times I have heard those words…. “cheating the system”…UGH! 

One of the main answers that I often hear to this question is that the cashiers are just jealous that they can’t get all of these great deals.  This may be true and I have said it before for moral support when someone has had a bad trip but I think this may be the least likely reason that a cashier would give you a problem with your coupons.  I truly believe that most just are not educated on proper coupon use.  I don’t blame them though.  All stores should properly train their cashiers/managers on how coupons work and especially keep them up to date on that specific stores coupon policy.  When they don’t do those things, that’s when all of the problems arise.  This may not have been a necessity five or ten years ago but with coupon usage at an all time high it really should be part of most stores training programs. 

Another reason that cashiers dislike coupons is because there are several people that do in fact use coupons improperly and lose money for the store/company.  Although most couponers are honest and follow proper coupon use, there are some that knowingly commit coupon fraud.  It then becomes a chain reaction: The company starts to lose money so they get after management about it.  Managers then have meetings with cashiers and sometimes put up signs and letters by the registers as reminders for them. Then the cashiers are worried about getting in trouble and possibly losing their jobs so they end up taking it out on coupon users.  Some forget to be polite and assume that ALL coupon users are the same.   

Some couponers are just plain ANNOYING!  There are those that will do 10 transactions back to back when a store is busy and they won’t even have the decency to let others in front of them in between their transactions.  They could care less if they hold up the line for 20+ minutes.  In my opinion that is rude!  I have no problem doing two or maybe three back to back transactions but if it is more than that and there is a line then I will keep going to the end of the line for very transaction after that.  If you don’t have the time to do that then you should really try and split up your transactions between stores or do them on different days.  I won’t get into the topic of shelf clearing because that may start a war but if you know that you will be at a store when the doors open on the first day of the sale and you plan to buy 50 of a like sale item you may consider asking management to order extra stock for you so that you don’t empty them out and leave them to deal with other angry customers and complaints all week. 

I clearly didn’t list all of the reasons that a cashier may have for disliking coupons ( and couponers) but the post would be a mile long!  The reasons mentioned in this post seem to be the most common.  It is also important to understand that not all cashiers feel this way though.  There are many that might even get excited for you when you get a ton of product for little out of pocket.  In fact one of my readers, Zach, is a cashier at Tops and he is very sweet and makes me feel like a coupon queen when he sees my totals J 

*** So what is your take on the subject?  Do you usually have good or bad experiences with cashiers in your area when using coupons?  When checking out, do you search for a specific cashier?  Let us know in the comments section above! ***              

           

            

      

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wednesday Why: Why Do Cashiers Dislike Coupons ?

  1. Annie says:

    I learned from another site to look for the young males 😉 That normally works – they either just want you gone or get into it. I have also found that be overly nice to the cashiers pays off. Several of my worst case cashiers have turned around because I have been overly nice and made sure I know the policy, quote the policy and try and get others to do so (a woman in front of me at Rite aid one day argued prices – I explained it was after ups that she was seeing and she took it from me not from them.. etc). But PATIENCE is the #1 thing I found that works. Though – I have 2 – 3 stores I just DO NOT go to because the checkers / managers are so mean. But normally I try and call corporate 😉

  2. Kelly says:

    I’m still pretty new to this way of shopping, but so far, no mad cashiers. Most don’t seem to care as long as they scan right. 🙂 I do recall my retail days w coupons. I think the most annoying thing was when people tried to get more than the coupon was giving, didn’t understand the sale or didn’t show the coupon until the last minute, meaning a re-done transaction(at least on our ancient machines). Can’t think of anything else on the subject right now, but if i do, I’ll share. 🙂 Now for dinner!!

  3. Kelly says:

    I’m still pretty new to this way of shopping, but so far, no mad cashiers. Most don’t seem to care as long as they scan right. 🙂 I do recall my retail days w coupons. I think the most annoying thing was when people tried to get more than the coupon was giving, didn’t understand the sale or didn’t show the coupon until the last minute, meaning a re-done transaction(at least on our ancient machines). Can’t think of anything else on the subject right now, but if i do, I’ll share. 🙂 Now for dinner!! ttys

  4. Karr says:

    OMG, sometimes they act like I am stealing and I don’t even do extra transactions. I only shop Riteaid and I can only go on the last day (Saturday) of the ad and sometimes the little signs with the price and the special is gone.

Leave a Reply

