Frugal Tip – Unplug Appliances

In this economy we all need to be careful with our money and saving is smart.  I am always trying to find more ways to save money and have found a ton of useful tips over the last few years that I will be sharing with you all.  You may already be doing many of the things that I will mention in this post each week and some may seem like common sense to you but perhaps it may not have occurred to someone else which is why I am mentioning it.  I will not post using coupons as a frugal tip, however, since I am assuming that most if not all of the readers of CouponLove use them. 

Every week I will post one “frugal tip” that I think may benefit some of you.  Just because I am posting about a particular money saving idea does not necessarily mean that my family and I put it into practice.  Some things that work for you may not work for others.  You may even find some of these ideas to be extreme for you and your family’s needs.  Either way I hope that I can help some of you find new ways to cut costs on your daily activities.

Frugal Tip :  Unplug appliances when not in use.  Some people will unplug everything except for their alarm clock and refrigerator when they go to bed and then plug things back in throughout the day as they use them.  If you have a bunch of appliances in one area then you may want to consider getting a power strip to plug them all into.  Did you know that your appliances are still using electricity when they are plugged into an outlet and yet turned off?!?!?!

My Personal Opinion:  This is one of my very favorite ways to save money.  It really does show in your electric bill when you do this daily.  I have to admit that we aren’t the greatest at remembering to unplug everything but I have been a lot better since I know that we need to save every penny that we can.  I mean seriously why should you have to pay for your toaster to just sit there on the counter?!

Level of savings when frugal tip is put into practice:  Quite significant especially if you have several big appliances. 

* Leave a comment below and tell us if you practice this frugal tip already or if you think you will give it a try and what your thoughts are on it.

This entry was posted in Frugal Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frugal Tip – Unplug Appliances

  1. karr says:

    I can’t get hubby and mother-in-law to embrace this! It not lamps is it?

  2. Grant Meyer says:

    I do this all the time, unplugging the TV, electric fans, and other household appliances not in use. I have also observed changes in my electric consumption and bill which had become slightly lower than usual. I advised friends about this practice and let them see the results for themselves.

    Grant Meyer
    Domestic Appliances Newport

Leave a Reply

