Guest Post: By Roz @ MsBuildingUpDaBenjamins

A funny thing happened on my way to living my daily life…the economy crashed! In the Fall of 2008, the
unthinkable happened – the stock market, banking and housing markets tanked and I mean hard – I was
scared and I was carrying about $6,000 in debt.

What did I do for $6,000? Paid medical bills, fixed my car, took a fancy vacation….ahhhhh, no! I have no
clue how I accumulated that much debt but I knew that things were not looking good and I had better
straighten out.

I needed to devise a plan to get rid of the debt. Hmmmmm, what to do, what to do? I could stop
spending money like a drunken sailor and maybe save? I didn’t know but I knew I had to do something.

The first thing I did was created a budget for myself, I needed to know where my paychecks were going.
Secondly, I opened an ING account to put money where I didn’t have easy access. Finally, I started
searching the internet on how to save money!

I started the Ms Building Up Da Benjamins blog to keep myself accountable for my actions. I was able
to pay off over $6,000 in debt in 9 months. Couponing helped me to reach my goals of being debt-free
much sooner than I had expected. I was getting all kinds of stuff that I needed for FREE or super cheap
and I wanted to share with others on how to save money!

Building up da Benjamins is a slang term for building wealth. Old Ben Franklin is on the one hundred
dollar bill and it was he who said, “A penny save is a penny earned.”

While the economy has still not recovered, I have a great stockpile from couponing and I am building up
the Benjamins!

Roz

FROM COUPON LOVE –  I would like to thank, Roz, for taking the time to write this post for Coupon Love and for being “Blog of the Week” !  I hope that you all enjoy MsBuildingUpDaBenjamins as much as I do!

This entry was posted in Blog of the week. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

