Quick Personal Post (or maybe really long)

For those of you that just started reading  my blog ( or lack there of lately) you should know that I am a very honest and open person.  There isn’t too much about myself that I wouldn’t share with all of you. 

 I know that you are all here for coupons, savings and freebies but I feel like I have a good friend in each and every one of you even if you have never left a comment before.  If you are a blogger than you know what I mean.  If not then the only way I can explain it is to compare the blog/reader relationship to a writer/diary relationship.  When you were younger ( or maybe even now) you likely had a diary at some point.  When you would write in your diary you felt comfortable sharing your feeling and secrets and felt as if your diary were your friend.  When I write blog posts and answer to comments I feel like I am talking to my good friends even when it’s just a quick freebie post. 

Sorry….getting to the point now I swear….. 

I wanted to share what has been going on in my life just this past week ( and it’s only mid week) and maybe vent a little.  I am not looking for sympathy just an ear ( or eye).  I will try to make it quick (like the title of the post says 🙂 ) .

On Monday, Hubby started his new job after being layed off for several months.  YAY!  We couldn’t have been more relieved.  Money has been very tight and rent hasn’t been on time in…I can’t remember!   So Hubby is on his way to work at 6:45 am and one of his supervisors calls and says that they need him at a new location.  Hubby didn’t know how to get there so he started typing in the new location in his gps and when he looked back up he was crashing into the back of a car.  No one was hurt except the right headlight of our car and the bumper of the other drivers car.  Fast Forward to  Monday evening when hubby just gets home and changes his clothes then goes to take a nap.  He gets a phone call that a close family member has had a heart attack.  The family member is doing well now.  Needless to say….Monday was NOT a good day.

Now onto Tuesday.  Hubby is at work.  I am getting the boys up in the morning and pop some Eggo Mini’s in the toaster for Brendon(2) while I get Bronson’s(11 months) Cheerios.  I go back to the toaster and the Eggo’s are still frozen.  Hmm…. I try again and…nothing.  Then I try the light switch and realize that the electricity is off.  I call Hubby and he answers with a sigh.  He thought he paid part of the bill but that was the heat that he paid.  So I, being the panicky person that I am tell him that he HAS to get it back on because we have babies.  I couldn’t call because I forgot to charge my cell and the battery alert was beeping ( no house phone).  When I go to get Brendon some milk I realize that the food is going to go bad if I don’t figure out what to do with it.  The electric company said it would be about 24 hours.  I call my mom and make plans to go over there and bring some food with me.  At 7:30 pm our electric was turned back on ( just as I was about to leave)!  Whew!  

THEN our upstairs neighbor comes down to tell us that he has an “issue” with us and that we are using HIS electricity.  I am sure my expression was priceless.  I had NO clue what on earth he could be talking about.  I call Garrett to the door because the neighbor wants me to follow him down to the basement…umm….no thanks.  Hubby goes in the basement with him and he points to our washer and dryer that some previous tenants from our apartment building gave to us recently and asks “are these yours?” .  Hubby replied “yes” and the neighbor told him that the outlet we have our machines plugged into are connected to his apartment and we are stealing his electricity.  Hubby was told by the landlord to move the washer and dryer to that outlet and told our neighbor that.  Then our neighbor tells hubby that his electric bill has more than doubled since July and that it was $70 more than normal and he wants us to take care of it.  We seriously have NO idea how or why his bill would be that much higher and Hubby asked him to see if now that the machines are unplugged if his bill is still higher than usual next month.  What doesn’t make sense is that as I said the washer and dryer were given to us by tenants that recently moved out and they are very old machines.  We didn’t have a washer or dryer so we of course were/are greatful for them.  We have since used them only ONCE.  Apparantly there is some peice that we need to hook up the dryer ( I have no clue about this stuff) and have no extra money to buy it now so we haven’t.  I continue to go over to my mom’s house every Friday and do our laundry.  So I have no idea why his bill is so high unless just having the washer and dryer hooked up but not in use would more than double his bill.  There have however been (2) new families that have moved in within the past couple months and both families have a washer and dryer as well.  I honestly think that our neighbor must be mistaken with which outlet is “his” and there might be a mix up with one of the new tenants hook ups.  If we find out that we are wrong then we will of course try and pay him for part of his bill whenever we can come up with the money for it….I wonder if he would accept men’s bodywash and toothpaste instead?!? 🙂

If you are still reading this then thanks for reading about my not so great week.  I feel much better getting that out.  I am really hoping that the rest of the week goes better.

I hope that you are all having a wonderful week!  If you ever want to vent about anything feel free….I owe you one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Quick Personal Post (or maybe really long)

  1. Tina says:

    Holy Crap! Just keep looking at the photo of your beautiful children. . .keep your chin up.

  2. Precious says:

    I am so sorry that you are having such a rough time right now. I know that you are such a good person. The car can be fixed and so can the power situation. I would ask the power company to come out and check a possible shared meter situation. It’s possible that all of you are not paying for the proper electric. Do you have NiMo? if you don’t want to do that, call the NYS Public Service Commission and they will explain what shared metering is. Then you can decide if there is a problem.

  3. Kate says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about all this 😦

    Since money’s tight for you, I’d be happy to put together a “thanks-for-your-awesome-blog” gift basket — unless you have too many toothbrushes (I have about2 dozen Oral-B), Johnson baby lotion, tampons, etc, etc. lol

    • couponlove says:

      Kate, as soon as I read your comment I couldn’t stop smiling 🙂 This is such a sweet offer but you really don’t have to. I actually have so much “extra” body wash, toothpaste and other body care products etc. that I am planning to have a quick and small stockpile sale to give us more room and hopefully make a few dollars to help with some bills. Thank you SO much for thinking of me!

  4. Amy says:

    I would love to help as well. My MIL was able to get a couple more of those summer essentials booklets the other day and I would like to mail you some more diaper coupons. I dont have your address anymore so if you can email it to me I can get those out to you right away since they expire 9/25. I am so sorry that you are going through such a rough time right now. Hang in there. 🙂

    • couponlove says:

      Amy, I know that you can use those coupons so you should keep them for yourself. You are always so good to me 🙂 Thank you so much for being willing to send them to help me out. I swear I have the most wonderful readers that any blogger could ask for!

  5. Felicia says:

    Wow, I’m so sorry.

Leave a Reply

