Walgreens Official Coupon Policy ( am I dreaming?!?)

WOW!  Can you believe they actually did it?  Walgreens FINALLY posted an official coupon policy on their site.  Maybe I will start shopping there again.  I HIGHLY recommend printing out this policy and taking it with you when shopping.  You can find the coupon policy here.

Highlights:

  • When items are featured in a Buy One, Get One Free promotion, up to two coupons can be used against the items being purchased, as long as the net price does not go below zero for the items being purchased.
  • When purchasing a single item, Walgreens accepts one manufacturer coupon and applicable Walgreens coupon(s) for the purchase of a single item, unless prohibited by either coupon offer.
  • The coupon amount must be reduced if it exceeds the value of the item after other discounts or coupons are applied. (For example, a $5.00 coupon for a $4.99 item will result in a $4.99 coupon value).
  • I still can’t believe it…can you? 🙂

    This entry was posted in Couponing Info, Walgreens. Bookmark the permalink.

    7 Responses to Walgreens Official Coupon Policy ( am I dreaming?!?)

    1. Amy says:

      I never shopped there before because of all the horror stories I would hear about them. Now maybe I will give them a shot! They are building one on French Rd two minutes away from my house. 🙂

      • couponlove says:

        I have one in walking distance and I used to go there several times a week but then I realized that I was spending too much out of pocket for stuff that I already had a good stockpile of. They have awesome clearance sometimes though and you can occasionally get something free after a coupon.

    2. Jenine says:

      It is about time! I stopped shopping there about a year ago. I’m skeptical about going back, but i might make a special visit to one of the managers just to throw this paper in his face. He was so rude. I got what I wanted (and what I was entitled too) but he was very disrespectful telling me I was stealing from his store.

      I read the policy but I didn’t see anything about using coupons on qualifying RR items. That seems to be the big issue. The managers insist the RR don’t print because coupons were used. Did i miss it or didn’t they include it?

      Thanks for the post 🙂

      • couponlove says:

        Hi Jenine! I’m sorry that the manager made you feel that way. I haven’t shopped at Wags in months because of their customer service and lack of coupon knowledge. I didn’t even realize that they didn’t include anything about using coupons and a Register Reward printing…good catch. Hmmm…. I will have to read it again but i’m pretty sure you are right.

    3. jogoods701 says:

      Let me ask you ladies a question. Do you think it’s okay to go into a store and buy the shelf empty? This is what happens from time to time in my store. I train my cashiers to page for a manager if a customer is trying to buy more than 2 or 3 of a hot coupon item so that we can “discuss” the purchase with the customer. However you feel about it, since we’re all blogging here, I think that it’s greedy. Yes you might need it, and yes in time you might use them all, but do you really need 10 right now? No, you don’t. My biggest complaint with coupon queens is their total disregard for anyone else, and the attitude I receive from them when I talk to them about this very subject. I know it won’t stop, but it’s just not right to assume that your entitled to everything because you got there first. I’m glad there is an official policy as well, but I’m also glad that they left in the part were we managers can accept additional coupons at our discretion. An we also still reserve the right to limit quantities of any item (per the tiny print on the back of our ads, thanks legal). Now that I’ve said my peace, bring on the retorts. And please, be gentle. I’m not a jerk, just a guy who still believes in fairness and kindness, and above all…sharing.

      • couponlove says:

        Hi Jogoods701 and welcome to CouponLove! First let me say thank you for your honesty and I can understand your frustration. Second I need to address that there ARE Coupon Kings as well 🙂
        I get what you are saying and I hate when shelves are cleared as well especially on the first day of the sale. There are several people who will have 10+ coupons for an item that will be free or even a possible money maker when considering the “store rewards” they receive after purchase but why does that seem to offend most cashiers and managers? I do think that limits on certain deals are great because they allow everyone to get in on the deal but why would you train your cashiers to page a manager if someone was just getting 2 or 3 of an item? I know that this isn’t true of most people but someone may have 6 or even more children or people in their care and just might need 2 or 3 or even more of an item. A lot of couponers also donate to shelters and elderly homes as well. I do think that 2 or 3 ( using your example) is a bit low to start “questioning & discussing” a customers purchase. The whole point is to buy items in bulk at a rock bottom price so that when the price of the item is dollars more for the next few months you won’t have to worry about it and will have what you need for yourself and family. Now I know that there are people that will go from store to store and buy every single product on a shelf the first hour of a sale and then YOU as a manager ( I am assuming?!?) have to deal with attitudes from other customers as to why you advertised an item and there isn’t a single one left. I get that and that is why I don’t clear shelves unless there are only a couple left or if it’s clearance. As regards to the attitudes that you may get from couponers I am sorry and I can’t speak for them but I can say that if I start to feel attacked or made out like I am stealing ( this happens a lot….why do cashiers/managers think it’s stealing?!?!) then I may get defensive whether I mean to or not although I never raise my voice or give an attitude.

        Would you mind answering a few of these questions for me if you can because I am honestly curious ( these may or may not apply to you)….
        Why is it that some cashiers act as if a customer is stealing when using coupons? Do they not know that the store will be reimbursed the face value of the coupon? As a manager isn’t is a GOOD thing to move product off of your shelves?

        * Please note that I am not trying to give an attitude in any way. I just thought I would let you know since ones tone can be hard to follow when reading something written online. I really do care to hear your opinion and am very interested in what a manager’s ( assuming again) take is on all of this….just please keep it clean and keep in mind that children could be nearby reading

        Amanda ( feel free to email me as well if you have further questions at wifenmom3@gmail.com )

    4. couponlove says:

      I just reread what you wrote Jo and am sorry I now see that you said you have cashiers page a manager if someone buys MORE THAN 2 or 3.

    Leave a Reply

    